Maine's Capital Area

Log in

Log in

Fayette copy©Dave Dostie PhotographyFayette is a small town community located approximately 19 miles northwest of the state capital. The town shares some of the most beautiful lakes and ponds in central Maine with the bordering towns of Mount Vernon, Readfield, and Wayne.

Fayette is known for its rural nature, seasonal resorts, and private camps. It is a popular recreational spot in the Capital Area. Fishing on one of Fayette’s 31.5 square miles of lakes and ponds draws anglers from all over. Hiking, snowmobiling, and fishing are just a few among many sports to enjoy.

After spending time in the idyllic town, many have decided to make Fayette their permanent home. With a neighbor helping neighbor attitude, Fayette is a wonderful place to visit or call home.


  • Population: 1,110
  • Fayette was named for the Marquis de Lafayette, a French aristocrat who fought in the American Revolutionary War, commanding American troops.
  • Fayette was first settled as Starling Plantation in 1781 and became incorporated as the town of Fayette on February 28, 1795.
  • Every summer, Echo Lake comes alive as Camp Winnebago and Vega host hundreds of young boys and girls as they have for generations.

Town of Fayette
(207) 685-4373